unRAID update

Posted: March 28, 2012 in Storing
Tags: ,

Just as a quick follow up: the unRAID box has been build in it’s new
enclosure (Antec 302) and the mixed collection of HDDs have been
mounted ready for action. The basic server now consistes of a 2Tb
Samsung as the parity, a 2Tb WD Green and a 1.5Tb Seagate for storage.

There’s a couple more 1.5Tb drives waiting to be added as soon as I
stump up the cash for the licensed version. Might wait until the
official 5.0 stable version gets released.

Now I just need to finish building the new desktop, then i’ll have the
old NAS, new unRAID and new desktop all on the same gigabit network so
I can start shunting the files from the old to the new with a bit more
alacrity. Once that is done, I’ll need to setup NFS and re-import my
media back into XBMC.

Got a week or so off planned, so I’m hoping I might get enough time to
at least start this final phase.

Leave a Reply

