unRAID update 2

Posted: April 18, 2012 in Storing
Tags:

Well I managed to rescue an additional WD Green 2.0Tb drive as well as a 2.0 Tb WD Black. I’ve also got hold of a CoolerMaster 4-in-3 disk stacker that I can put into the 3 x 5.25″ bays in the Antec tower. This gives me a theoretical capacity of 10 x 3.5″ disks plus 2x 2.5″.

My plan is now to use the WD Black as the parity (fast drive) with 2x 2.0Tb WD Greens for data. I’ve removed the 2 port SATA card that was in the tower as unRAID didn’t recognise it and replaced it with a SuperMicro 8 Channel SAS card that was thrown away at work. I’ll drop the 3 x 1.5Tb Seagate and the 2.0Tb Samsung drives on to the SAS card and use them to expand the array once I get a license.

I’ll use one of the Seagate drives as a cache drive during the initial bulk transfer and then swap that back in as a data drive and use an old 320Gb WD drive as the cache drive for day to day use.

So using the free license will net me 4.0Tb usable, upping it to the Plus license will give me 9.0Tb useable plus 1.5Tb cache. If I go for the Pro license I can get 12Tb useable and use a 320Gb cache.

Now I need to pull the box from the shelves, do the upgrade and then start the transfer. I’m thinking that it’s going to be quicker to clean the current config and start from scratch rather than try to migrate the little amount of data across to new disks.

Leave a Reply

