Living With A Pebble

Posted: September 27, 2013 in Hardware

So I’ve had the Pebble watch for a couple of months now, and I have to say that I like it. Seeing the next generation of ‘smart watches’ appear in crowd-funding sites and then announcements by Samsung and Sony make me wish it did a bit more, but realistically, there’s a limit to the practical uses of a smart watch.

As someone who drives nearly everyday, the ability to glance down at my wrist and see who is calling (not having ear pieces and/or modern phone-pairing vehicle) is very useful. As is the ability to quickly see the contents of a SMS. To be honest, I do exactly the same when at my desk or in meetings… it saves me fumbling around to try and get my phone out, only to find that it’s another junk text or call.

Battery life is Ok, they originally stated 7+ days on a charge, I think I get a good 4 and occasionally 5 days, but I’ve never really bothered to check. Paranoia sets in so I tend to put it on charge because I can’t remember when I last did it! Without an indicator of some kind to show power levels, it can become hit and miss to whether or not I’ll make it home before it goes flat.

The use of proprietary physical power connector is probably the only downside. Using Qi wireless or standard micro-USB would make life easier, especially when I travel/forget to charge it, but I understand why this wasn’t done. Maybe version 2 could use these instead?

Overall I like it and I’m glad I got one.

Leave a Reply

