Adventures in HA – House plans

Posted: October 31, 2013 in HA, Rants
Tags: ,

One of the annoying things about playing with HA software is the room plan. Nearly every platform shows a view of some kind where there’s a splendid, full colour, detailed floor plan showing exactly where EVERY fixture and fitting is.

HOW????

All my attempts fall flat on their faces because I haven’t got the exact dimensions, or time to measure and then manually enter EVERY dimension in some random piece of software. The software also seems to be too simplistic (and won’t let me have non-rectangular rooms) or excessively complex (CAD suites) or bloody expensive.

So far I’m having more success with MagicPlan on the iPad. It at least gives me the basic room shapes and reasonably accurate dimensions. So I can use it to generate something to test on the platforms I’m playing with.

Leave a Reply

