Adventures in HA – Part Four – HomeGenie (1)

Posted: November 14, 2013 in HA
Tags: ,

I had originally planned to go an download the 30 day trial of Indigo, but a spare hour or so yesterday meant that I dug out a spare SD card and re-installed HomeGenie.

I liked HomeGenie when I first played with it a few months back, although initial attempts to get my X-10 controller to work failed miserably, sticking an Aeon Labs Stick2 in worked fine. At that point I lacked any other devices, so turning on and off a single light wasn’t really a huge leap forward. Now I also have a 3-in-1 sensor I can try and get things to happen based on the sensor as well as manual control.

So back to HomeGenie and it’s pleasant jQuery mobile interface. The interface is minimal, and really designed for use on devices rather than the desktop. The downside is that configuration then becomes much more ‘restricted’ in its abilities.

Originally I had managed to get the controller and switch setup. From there getting the switch to turn a lamp on and off via the interface(confusing my kids no end!). With the new version (1.00_beta_r290 from memory) I got the controller to register (I think), it eventually picked up the switch but then totally failed to let me turn the switch on or off, even though it was correctly reporting the status of the switch (0% or 100%). This may have been due to me getting impatient, repeatedly pressing the button and confusing the poor thing, but I’m sure it responded a lot quicker last time I played with it!

Getting the 3-in-1 to work hasn’t been successful so far. It registers the sensor as a node, but then getting it to do anything (presence, temperature or light level) has left me stumped. Lack of time to pursue this means I’ll need to find some time to go through forums and maybe try again.

 

HomeGenie – www.generoso.info/homegenie/

Leave a Reply

