VortexBox re-appears

Posted: January 14, 2016 in Hardware, Storing
Tags: ,

So I rebuilt the Vortexbox CD ripper last weekend… A few new CDs appeared over Xmas, so I needed to get them on to the Sonos so I could listen to them at home, not just in the car.

Last time I looked at VB it was on version ~1.5, but the current version is 2.4. It has also moved from an .ISO format to a USB installer (good news).

Trouble is that no matter what I did I couldn’t persuade the old Intel Atom board to boot into the freshly installed VB. I initially assumed that the issue was due to re-cycling of HDD – perhaps the MBR was corrupted: all the usual things that happen when you swap between OS installs. Even with a completely blank HDD (gparted rocks) it still jumped happily through the install process and then reported that ‘no boot device is present’.

Several other people reported similar issues and it looks like the hardware won’t accept a gpt boot partition, so it can’t see that it exists and so it constantly reports that no boot device is present.

The forums also reported that you can append ‘nogpt’ to the install boot params, but that didn’t work for me either. Having wasted enough time on reboots & reinstalls I eventually I found an earlier  v2.3 in .ISO format that I could copy to USB and that did work.

Leave a Reply

