Migrating to OpenHAB 2

Posted: September 8, 2016 in HA, Hacking and playing, House
Tags:

With the Beta release of OpenHAB2, I finally decided that it was time to look at the migration path from OH1.8. I also decided to do the proper Veralite integration and use the excellent scripts provide by Guessed to convert everything in my Z-Wave controller and import it to OH2.

So far it has been quite easy to convert from OH1 to OH2, but the following things did catch me out. Most of this revolves around the new hierarchy/architecture of things/items/channels.

The old way to refer to an item:

Switch Hue_GF_Toggle_Snug   "Snug Bloom"  (gGfloor)  {hue="1"}

The new way to refer to a v2.0 item:

Switch Hue_GF_Toggle_Snug   "Snug Bloom"  (gGFloor)  {channel="hue:LLC001:000000000ab1:1:color"}

Device detection and inclusion with the Paper UI

If you install version 2.0 compatible bindings – Hue, Sonos, Weather, etc the PaperUI will allow you to discover the real devices on the network and extract the relevant items. However, these items are NOT stored in an item file; they end up in the /userdata/mapdb part of the file system. This makes it a PITA to then refer to them as you need to figure out the correct channel name & reference to make use of them.

So if I need to write a rule to turn on the Hue Bloom from the above example, I need to copy the channel info from the PaperUI interface and paste it into my rule.

Being pedantic, I prefer to have all my items in a single location (currently a loooong .items file) so I can find them again. If I add the ‘discovered’ item to my .items file, I’ll end up with duplicate entry error in the log. Actually writing this post made me realise why I kept getting the error despite repeatedly searching for the item and finding only a single reference in my conf dir!!!!

So I’ll end up using the auto discover and then not enable any of the channels the PaperUI displays, I’ll just copy and paste the value to my own items file.

Using 1.9 binding means using old style item mapping

Using the MiOS binding tools I imported into OH2 all the devices controlled by the Veralite Z-Wave controller. I then spent ages trying to figure out how I could convert

{mios="unit:house,device:139/service/SwitchPower1/Status"}

into the correct format that OH2 uses

{channel="mios:unit:house,device:139/service/SwitchPower1/Status"}

without success. All the examples talk about using this channel={} format and that the non 2.0 bindings (often called 1.9) will work using the compatibility layer that is built into OH2.

What I didn’t realise was that these 1.9 bindings still use the OH1 item convention, so there was no need to change them!

Import libraries

The migration docs point out that under the new architecture there is no need to include imports at the top of the rules/scripts. So in the past I would have:

import org.openhab.core.library.types.*
import org.openhab.core.persistence.*
import org.openhab.model.script.actions.*
import java.util.Date
import java.text.SimpleDateFormat

So when I copied across my rules, I happily deleted all the import statements.

Stupidly I assumed that as this was a Java environment this included the java libraries. It doesn’t. It only applies to the OpenHAB ones. Thankfully I use git, so rolling back all the changes wasn’t as big a deal as it could have been!

The new imports now include only Java libaries:

import java.util.Date
import java.text.SimpleDateFormat

 

Eclipse Designer and OpenHAB designer

This is more a moan than a gotcha… Needing to have OHDesigner open to access my OH1 configuration and Eclipse Smart Home Designer to edit the OH2 ones… EclipseSHD won’t open OH1 directories and vice-versa.

At least on ‘nix I can use workspaces and switch between them, on Windows, not so much.

Links

Official OH 2 documentation

Migration guide

OpenHAB WIki

Leave a Reply

