HiFiPi – Part 3 – A new home and a new sound

Posted: October 14, 2016 in Audio, Hacking and playing, Hardware
Tags: , ,

In the previous two parts I’ve looked at building something a little more capable for audio playback. What I’ve built works brilliantly with headphones, but isn’t in any way  suitable for use by ‘normal’ people and definitely not with small children around.

So I decided to look at following the herd and try to build the new music player in an old enclosure. After much eBay hunting, I found several nice radios that could be refactored. My issue with them was the size.

If I want to build a stereo radio I need 2 speakers (obvious huh?), but most of these radios are mono, so adding a second speaker either means running two tiny speakers or modifying the case to allow for a second speaker. Either way two speakers take up space and the X400 is already considerably bigger than the HiFiBerry or equivalent board.

If I go the whole hog and try to include some form of interface/screen then a repurposed radio chassis is completely unsuitable. I can try and find a large (think valve type) radio from before the modern radio. These are generally quite large but come with wooden cases that can make the end product look gorgeous. This scenario gives me the opposite problem. The end product would be far too big to sit in the kitchen, it would be more appropriate for the dining room or somewhere as a centre-piece.

The X400 is rated to drive 2x 20W speakers, I had originally planned to buy some car speakers from eBay once I had the rough dimensions of the enclosure I wanted them to go into. So everything really hung off of finding a decent box to put it in.

Being a total novice at this stuff, I decided that it makes more sense to try and build something, learning as I go. I’d have to be prepared to completely get it wrong, throw away stuff and to start again. Once I’d figured things out, maybe then I could build the ‘final’ version.

With this in mind I decided I would get a broken Roberts Colourstream internet radio. While big and modern, it has a couple of decent speakers and a touch screen that I hoped I could re-use. The case should be big enough to fit everything inside and it is already configured for stereo.

roberts_colourstream

Roberts Colourstream Internet DAB Radio

The previous owner had attempted to ‘fix’ the device – resulting in the guts basically being supplied in a separate bag, but that was just one less thing for me to do. Removing the facia allowed me to get to the speakers and after a couple of minutes work  I had stripped the plugs off the speakers and had wired them directly into the X400. A boot of the Pi and suddenly we have music from the speakers.

The next part is figuring out what I want to do, how to do it and what parts are needed!

 

Comments
  1. Joe Mc. says:

    Thanks for your HiFiPi write up. Have a x400 coming on the slow boat. Will be setting up a similar system, trying to stream live archive.org shows.

Leave a Reply

