HiFiPi – Part 5 – Pins ‘n stuff (2)

Posted: December 7, 2016 in Audio, Hacking and playing, Hardware
Tags: ,

So I’ve gone through two use cases so far, and I have successfully got these working using the basic plug and play parts of an introduction to electronics kit. No soldering, just pushing pins into the prototyping board. The next couple of use cases I think I’ve figured out, but as the cheap electronics are coming from eBay via China, I’m still waiting for the parts to arrive before I actually try these ones….

So this is (at time of writing) all theory!

Use Case 3 – Volume Control

While the X400 has an on-board volume dial, I’m not convinced that I can build a suitable mechanical coupling to allow me to expose this outside of the enclosure. My gut reaction is to use this as the max level control and then use software to control the volume up to this hard limit. Volumio will then treat this as the 100 (max) point in its volume scale and allow users to set volumes. Volumio can also set the mute the same way, but how do I control the volume?

I believe that I can control the volume via the software mixer in Volumio. Like with mpc, I should be able to issue a command to increase or decrease the volume. As with my previous two use cases, adding a switch to the GPIO and detecting it appears to solve this problem.

Adding another set of switches seems ‘wrong’…. So perhaps I should try something a little bit more complex and user friendly? Maybe using a rotary encoder (a dial!) instead to control the volume? Maybe I should be really smart and try a rotary encoder with a push button (a dial you can click) to allow for mute as well?

usecase3

Rotary Encoder – NO Switch

Python Code:

#!/usr/bin/env python
# -*- coding: utf-8 -*-
from RPi.GPIO import GPIO
from time import sleep

#Define GPIO Pins that have buttons
clk = 5            #volume dial clk
dt = 6             #volume dial dt

GPIO.setmode(GPIO.BCM)
GPIO.setup(clk, GPIO.IN, pull_up_down=GPIO.PUD_DOWN)
GPIO.setup(dt, GPIO.IN, pull_up_down=GPIO.PUD_DOWN)

volume = 0
clkLastState = GPIO.input(clk)

def changeVol(newVolume):
    print ("New volume is " + newVolume)

try:
    while 1:
        clkState = GPIO.input(clk)
        dtState = GPIO.input(dt)
        if clkState != clkLastState:
            if dtState != clkState:
                volume += 1
            else:
                volume -= 1
            changeVol(volume)
        clkLastState = clkState
        sleep(0.01)
finally:
        GPIO.cleanup()

Update: The encoder I have has 5 pins, not 3…. clk/dt/GND/3.3V/something…. and that is represented in the code above. It still doesn’t have a ‘switch’.

Update: The latest version of Volumio has its own command line client that allows for volume setting.

volumio volume <value>

Use Case 4 – Radio Stations

The final use case is the ability to switch to live radio streams – something that is a must in a kitchen radio! I think we’re back to simple GPIO buttons on this one, with each one triggering a predefined playlist of a single stream. How we trigger the actual stream is something I’ve yet to figure out.

usecase4

Radio Preset 1, 2 & 3

Still working on this bit…. #sigh

 

Use Case 5 – Modes

OK, so I lied. While playing with the HiFiPi I realised that the music is playing out of both the speakers and the headphone socket. As it was late and I didn’t want to wake the kids I needed someway to turn the speakers off. The X400 comes with 3 jumpers that are used to turn the amp on & off, the headphones on & off and mute all the outputs. Trouble is moving these around once inside the enclosure will be impossible.

x400-drawing

X400 Output Jumpers

As these are fixed jumpers, it should be possible to use locking switches to fix the state in either open or closed, thus enabling the device component. A quick email to Suptronics support revels that this is true, so I now need to add locking switches to the shopping list to test.

This will mean I can add a mute button without using up a GPIO or adding code. The other two modes – headphones & speakers are more useful to me using the setup in the study at night. That way I can turn off the speakers and just use the headphones to stop me from waking the kids.

Parts List (so far):

Wire – whatever is appropriate to you setting!

2x 1 row pin headers

Momentary contact switch x1 – for ON

Momentary contact switch x1 – for OFF

Momentary contact switch x4 – Media shuttle commands

1x Rotary encoder

Momentary contact switch x3 – Radio preset buttons

Locking switches x3 – Mode output control

Leave a Reply

